Coventry Transport Museum Observation Sketch.

(C)oventry Transport Museum

After today’s guest lecture with Aston Martin, we decided to head down to the Coventry Transport Museum to complete some observation/component sketches. Ever since the first time I went to the Coventry Transport Museum, I always wanted to sketch the Lola T70 MkIII. The car is undeniably beautiful for a car of its age. I believe the particular model I drew was from the late ’60s. It has aged beautifully. So, when we got there, I sat down in front of the car, and I drew just the front end. This is how it came out:

Lola T70 MkIII Front End

My Sketch of the Lola T70 MkIII Front End

Me sketching the Lola T70 MkIII

I think the perspective of the photograph is a little different to my sketch but I think my sketch came out nicely. Lately I have been doing a lot of sketches with the blue wax pencil because it adds a little colour to an otherwise plain sketch. I’m relatively happy with it. I love drawing a car in person as an observation sketch because you have the ability to walk up to the car, study the details up close in person, something that you cannot do with a photograph.

All in all, I had a great day today. Firstly, I had a useful Add+vantage session in the morning, 2 hour gym session, then the Aston Martin lecture and finished it off nicely with sketches in the Coventry Transport Museum. Success!

