Datsun 240Z Redesign

As it is our assessment week, we technically have a week off. However, the teachers on our course set us some design briefs. One of which was to redesign car dating back before the 1980’s. I am doing a few at the moment, notably the ’57 Chevrolet Corvette, a Stingray Corvette 396 and this, the Datsun 240Z. Quite possibly my favourite car of all time, up there with the 1967 Ford Mustang GT390 Fastback. I found it was difficult to redesign something that was so beautiful to begin with, but I gave it my best shot. Anyways, here is the original design, and my redesign:

1969 Datsun 240Z Original

Datsun 240 Redesign

I tried to keep the iconic features, mainly the front end redesign, and the headlights. I went for the more futuristic approach on the rear, by completely changing it. I wanted the wheel arches/fenders to be big, and give the car a very wide but low profile. This makes the car more sleek and I really like these types of cars. Please leave a comment as feedback on ways I can improve this design, or develop it further. Even if it is something you do not like about the car, let me know! Thanks!

