Workshop Induction

Today I had a workshop induction in which a teacher showed us round the workshop area and demonstrated how the equipment in the room were to be used. After the demonstrations, he told us to take a piece of styrofoam and MDF to create anything we wanted, so long as we used the machinery in the room. Being an Automotive Design student, I went straight into making a car, something I found was harder than it looked.

Attempt 1

Attempt 2 Front

Attempt 2 Rear

With the first model, I was trying to smooth out the bottom of the model, so I was using the sanding machine, when in no time at all, I had sanded off half the car.. Then I tried again, and it came out a lot better. Still using the same equipment and sand paper, I was able to produce this. I was quite happy with the result.

