Jinwook Jeong, Line Work Master

Over the last couple of days, I have been learning how to weight lines and draw perspectively by a classmate of mine, Jinwook (Ian) Jeong. Jinwook has an uncanny ability with a pencil, with quality of that of a professional. He has been teaching me about the stress/strain of line weight, area’s to emphasise and draw bolder, but also how to draw accurate perspective sketches. I asked him what I could add to my sketches in order to improve them, and it made a whole world of difference. He started off by adding more line weighting to one of my current sketch renders, which can be seen below.

JJ

Jinwook Jeong

JJ

Jinwook Jeong

Unfortunately, I did not take a picture before hand so you cannot see a before and after but it did make the rendering pop off the page a little more. He did this on my Vauxhall Insignia facelift work, and to show an example of how good he is with pencils, here is an example from his facelift project of the Renault Clio.

JJ ClioRenault Clio, Jinwook Jeong.

He stressed the importance of applying stress and strain to the weighting of the lines, as shown below.

JJ Stress Strain

5 Levels of Stress and Strain on Lines

By adding stress and strain to the lines, it creates more dynamism and makes it pop off the page more, and makes it visually more interesting. He went ahead and drew me a side view as well, to further enhance his point.

JJ Side View

Side View, Lines Weighted

After his incredibly useful 1 on 1 tutorials, I tried replicating his quality of line work on my own sketches. I personally have seen a dramatic improvement in my work.

Line Weighting

Sketch 1, Lines Weighted

Line Weighting

Sketch 2, Lines Weighted

I am very proud of these two sketches as they are inviting a new sketch style for me. I will continue to aspire to have the ability of Jinwook Jeong, as I practice harder in order to get there.

