LaFerrari and McLaren P1

LaFerrari

LaFerrari

During my spare time, I enjoy sketching/rendering cars because I am an automotive designer. It is my passion. Throughout the last few weeks, we have been studying Ergonomics, in which we have to design and create a model of a comfortable to use Gear stick. More on that to follow. But, doing all this ergonomics work has swayed me away from drawing cars, in which I felt I needed to refocus my efforts to in my spare time. Seeming as it is Geneva Motor Show this week, I decided to sketch the newly released (05.03.2013) LaFerrari. I have never been a big fan of Ferrari’s, but in my opinion, this was one of the best looking Ferrari’s I had seen in a very long time. I would say the best looking Ferrari since the 355. That was a beautiful car. But I do see the new stupidly named LaFerrari as a baby of a 458 and an Enzo. Not that that is a bad thing. The only thing I do not really like is the rear of the car.

LaFerrari

LaFerrari Rear

It does look rather weird with that central pillar thing going on. Nevertheless, I decided to sketch an unusual perspective of the car, which is almost a side profile of it. Here is the picture I was looking at when drawing it, and my sketch below it.

LaFerrari

LaFerrari Profile

LaFerrari Sketch

LaFerrari Sketch

I was pretty happy with it, but decided to take it one step further by sketching one of its main rivals, the McLaren P1. If I were asked which one I’d prefer, that would be an extremely hard question to answer. My brain goes towards the P1 but my hearts beats for the Ferrari. I’d like to take the front of the Ferrari with the rear of the P1, because the rear of the P1 is beautiful!

McLaren P1 Rear

McLaren P1 Rear

So I decided to sketch roughly the same angle of P1 as I did for my LaFerrari. This picture below is the one I was looking at when sketching my car, and my sketch is below that.

McLaren P1 Profile

McLaren P1 Profile

McLaren P1 Sketch

McLaren P1 Sketch

I tried a lot more shading on the P1 sketch, which turned out rather nicely but I am overall very happy with both of the sketches and hope to maintain that quality of work, but for the time being its back to Ergonomics! 😦

In the mean time, check out these two video’s by Ferrari, introducing LaFerrari and the Architecture behind it.

LaFerrari Introduction

LaFerrari Architecture

