Architecture Influences.

As many of you know, I love architecture. I love going to lectures on Architecture and listening to how these extreme buildings have been designed. Last year, I attended many lectures hosted by the partners at OMA, the Office of Metropolitan Architecture. I had the privilege of observing and listening to these architectes. They were Rem Koolhaas, one of the founders of OMA, Victor van der Chijs, Ellen van Loon, Reinier de Graaf, Shohei Shigematsu and David Gianotten. They talked about past and future projects, competitons they had entered etc. One of their most famous buildings is the relatively new CCTV Headquarters in Beijing.

CCTV HEADQUARTERS

CCTV Headquarters in Beijing, China

I was lucky enough to go to Beijing in December 2012 and I took a picture outside of the CCTV Headquarters. The thing that disappointed me however was how filthy the exterior of the building was due to the amount of smog that Beijing produces. It looked a lot cleaner in the pictures I had seen prior to the visit, but in person it was very dirty.

Me outside CCTV Headquarters

Me outside CCTV Headquarter in Beijing, China

The way this building has been designed makes you look twice, mainly because of the enormous cantilever that you can see in the image above.

Aside from the CCTV headquarters, I have been to many architectural landmarks. Such as the Gherkin in London (Norman Foster), the Audi Forum in Japan, Beijing Airport in Beijing, Reichstag Dome in Berlin (Norman Forster), Serpentine Gallery – Temporary Pavillion’s in 2011 (Peter Zumthorg) and 2012 (Ai Weiwei and Herzog & de Meuron), DZ Bank in Berlin (Frank Gehry), Neuschwanstein Castle in Schwangau, Germany, West London Audi in London, The Evelyn Grace Academy in Brixton, UK (Zaha Hadid) etc.

Looking and observing some of these buildings gives me some great inspiration such as the sharp/curvy  lines used on the exterior of buildings etc. Crazy buildings like the Reichstag Dome in Berlin designed by Norman Foster have a certain presence which when you look at it, in this case from the inside, makes you go wow. That is the same kind of presence I want to achieve in the design of my cars. I wish for everyone to look at my car and just be blown away. Incorporating features from Architecture and manipulating the ideas to work with cars is a fun challenge. I will continue to look at architecture for inspiration, and I hope architecture keep evolving to give me more inspiration for my future designs.

