Favourite Type of Car #1: The Shooting Brake

First of all, one thing needs to be cleared up. What is a shooting brake? Many people don’t know what a shooting brake is.  That’s because there is no concrete definition as to what one is. In my eyes a shooting brake is a 2 door estate much like the reliant scimitar, but a lot of manufacturers nowadays are releasing 4 door cars called shooting brakes such as the Mercedes Benz CLS Shooting Brake, Aston Martin Rapide Shooting Brake and the Porsche Panamera Sport Turismo that don’t abide by the 2 door rule. Either way, I really like the general shape of shooting brakes/estate cars. I love the roof line, and the fact that they are more practical versions of the car. Here below is the Reliant Scimitar GTE. Observe the beauty of the shape.

Reliant Scimitar GTE

Reliant Scimitar GTE

In a recent project of mine, the Ford Mustang Facelift Project, I had to design a derivative of the mustang which was the shooting brake. Mine was designed on my basis of a 2 door ‘estate’. Here it is below.

Final Render

Ford Mustang Facelift Derivative Shooting Brake

Final Render

Ford Mustang Facelift Derivative Shooting Brake

I took inspiration of the roof line from the Porsche Panamera Sport Turismo, as I wanted a roof line that sloped down a lot. Here are some examples of some shooting brakes, some are real and some are renders.

Gallery of Shooting Brakes

Some of the renderings in the gallery above I really like, such as the F-type and GT86 shooting brakes. I wish more manufacturers made shooting brakes. For example with Mercedes, instead of calling the CLS a shooting brake, call it an estate. Shooting brakes to me are 2 door estates. Either that, or chop off the doors and make them 2 door! They are still my favourite type of car regardless, as I love the side profile of most of them.

