Favourite Type of Car #2: The Fastback

A forgotten trend resurrected with the Rolls Royce Wraith.

The Fastback is another of my favourite types of cars. The fact that two of my all time favourite cars are Fastbacks tells you a lot. The thing I love about fastbacks is the roof line. I know that is what separates it from most cars, but that is what I like about the car. The way the roof line curves all the way back to the rear of the overhang makes it look so elegant. I fell in love with the most obvious car in the fastback category, the 1967 Ford Mustang GT390 Fastback. All round, this car is beautiful. So aggressive yet elegant. The fastback provides the car with a sense of elegance, and the pronounced wheel arches provide a sense of muscularity.

1967 Ford Mustang GT390 Fastback

1967 Ford Mustang GT390 Fastback Rear Three Quarter

1967 Ford Mustang GT390 Fastback

1967 Ford Mustang GT390 Fastback Side Profile

I have loved this car for a while, but my love for the car was elevated due to the feature in the film Fast and Furious; Tokyo Drift. In Tokyo drift, it looked so bad ass.

Tokyo Drift Mustang

Other than the Mustang, another one of my favourite cars that is of a fastback design is the Datsun 240Z.

Datsun 240Z

Datsun 240Z

Datsun 240Z

Datsun 240Z

The Datsun 240Z was Japan’s take on the Jaguar E-type. The car in my opinion is almost as pretty, but a lot more reliable. There is something about this car that makes me go wow. The way the bonnet is so long and the way the roof line curves all the way back to the small rear overhang epitomizes everything I love about this fastback.

On the 04/05/2013, I went to London specifically to see the new Rolls Royce Wraith, as it was in Harrods for the week, and it left on the day I went to see it.

Rolls Royce Wraith

New Rolls Royce Wraith

The new Wraith design to me is the resurrection of the Fastback design. The fastback to me had died a while ago and not many people seemed to care. Cars like the Nissan 370Z and the Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class were good shots at Fastbacks, but it never captured the essence of the older fastback designs. I wish to see more fastback designs in the near future.

