Line Weighting Practice

So, the other day, I discovered an amazing Youtube channel dedicated to some of the best Automotive Sketches I have seen. The name of the guy that runs the channel is Sangwon Seok. He is a Korean designer. After watching his videos, I had the sudden urge to sketch so I tried to imitate the level of line weighting he displayed in his video tutorials. I will link the video below and show how my sketch turned out.

Audi Concept Sketch Render

Audi Concept Sketch Render

My Line Work Practice

I was very happy with the outcome as I feel I learned a lot about which parts of the line to emphasise to make the sketch look more dynamic, without adding markers. As you see here, in the video, Sangwon Seok adds marker to the sketch after the line weighting. I wanted to purely practice my line weighting skills so I left out the marker rendering area. Regarding the pencil work, I am very happy. Here is another example below.

Mercedes Benz Concept Sketch Render

Mercedes Benz Concept Sketch Render

My Line Work Practice

Same goes for this sketch as with the first one. The purpose of this was to practice my line work so no marker rendering here. Again, I am happy with the final outcome. All I did was have the video(‘s) up on my tablet when sketching, whilst pausing the video and drawing whatever he had drawn in order. That way I was able to see a step by step tutorial of how he managed to get such a beautiful and visually powerful sketch. I am going to continue to imitate his work, and hopefully be at the level he is at sometime in the near future.

If you are studying or wanting to go into Automotive Design, I highly recommend you check out his work through the Youtube videos and on his Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/sangwon.seok.1